Board of Directors

2018-2019 Board of Directors


Suzannah Bennett, Vice President, was elected to the Board of Directors in June 2016 as a Community member. Suzannah has worked in research and knowledge translation related to community health for over ten years. She has worked previously at the Association of Ontario Midwives and is currently a Lead for the quality standards program at Health Quality Ontario.


Carmine Di Federico, Director, was appointed to the Board of Directors in February 2017, as an Associate Member and elected to the board in June 2017. Carmine has recently retired from BMO Nesbitt Burns as a Managing Director after a career spanning over 30 years with the firm.


Rose D’souza, Director, was elected to the Board of Directors in June 2017, as an Associate Member. Rose works as a senior policy advisor for the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care’s immunization program. She has previous experience in public health program delivery at Public Health Ontario. Rose also has a background in journalism – she attended Columbia University’s School of Journalism, which fostered her interest in community building activities.


Andrew Frade, Secretary, was elected to the Board of Directors in June 2017, as a Community Member. Andrew is a writer, director and high school teacher in equal parts. Andrew received a Bachelors in Fine Arts from the Ontario College of Art & Design University in Toronto and a Bachelors of Education from York University. In the past Andrew has worked as a child and youth worker at the Davenport-Perth Neighbourhood Community Health Centre and as a counsellor at the Child Development Institute’s Camp Wimodausis. As well, his feature film WASH UP debuted at the 2017 Frozen Film Festival in St. Paul, Minnesota. When Andrew isn’t writing a new script or teaching high school students in the York Region District School Board you can find him working with the PACT Film Program, which is a charity that teaches high school students and at risk youth how to create and produce short films.


Helder Marcos, President, was elected to the Board in June 2015 as a Community Member. Helder has 10 years experience working in the Ontario Public Service, primarily with the Ministry of Community and Social Services and currently with the Treasury Board Secretariat working on an initiative to modernize the Government of Ontario’s Enterprise Risk Management approach. A lifelong resident of Davenport, Helder also has previous experience working in the Portuguese-Canadian community to promote post-secondary education among youth.


Terri Irwin, Director, was elected to the Board in June 2018 as a Community Member. Terri is an experienced Nursing leader with 17 years’ experience in professional practice, clinical operations and quality improvement. Currently, Terri is the Director of the Quality Standards program at Health Quality Ontario.  In this role, she works with an amazing team to drive provincial level, inter-professional, quality improvement through the development, implementation, measurement and reporting of clinical quality standards.


Beth Johnson, Treasurer, was elected to the Board of Directors in June 2014 as a Community Member. Beth is nominated to the Board of Directors for her second term. Beth is a retired hospital administrator and was the Board Vice-President for the 2017-2018 session.


Camille Le Hunte, Director, was appointed to the Board of Directors in December 2017 as an Associate Member and elected in June 2018. Camille graduated from Western University with a Bachelor of Health Sciences and from the University of Toronto with a Masters in Public Health (Health Promotion). Camille has worked with Davenport Perth Neighbourhood and Community Health Centre as a practicum student and currently works for the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care in the Health Equity Branch. Camille has experience in health promotion, program planning and evaluation.


Hilary Mackenzie, Director, was elected to the Board in June 2018 as a Community Member. Hilary has worked as a French and Spanish interpreter in the community sector, a financial administrator for non-profit organizations and a teacher of English as a second language. She has lived in this area and been a patient at the health centre for twenty-eight years.


Cathy O’Neill, Director, was elected to the Board in June 2018 as a Associate Member. Cathy has over twenty years of experience in the healthcare sector with a focus on quality, safety, equity and engagement. She received her Bachelors of Nursing from Ryerson University in Toronto, and her Master’s in Public Policy from Queen’s University. Currently, she is the Senior Director for Patient Experience and Community Engagement at the newly formed health network of Providence Healthcare, St. Joseph’s Health Centre and St. Michael’s Hospital in Toronto. In this role, Cathy is committed to system and local level improvements across the healthcare continuum to ensure the best experience through equitable access to care for all patients, families and local communities.


Martin Ship, Past President, was appointed to the Board of Directors in September 2014 as a Community Member and elected in June 2015. Martin is recently retired from the Financial Services Commission of Ontario where he was the Director, Corporate Policy and Public Affairs. He has  experience in communications, stakeholder relations and government affairs.  Martin also serves as a director for other Not for Profits and has an interest in governance and public policy.


Dave Sohi, Director, was elected to the Board of Directors in June 2017 as an Associate Member. Dave graduated from Queens University with a Bachelor of Commerce. After graduating, he worked at a mid-sized accounting and advisory firm where he earned his Chartered Accountant and Chartered Business Valuator designations. Dave currently is a VP of Finance at a mid-sized company, and has previously served as the President of his own consulting company. In addition, he served on a Board of Directors as Treasurer at another not-for-profit sector.